Atomik 70cc assembly advice

Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum

Help Support Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wendell

Reaction score
Hi guys.
I'm putting together my first bike and there are a few things that don't seem right to me that I'd appreciate some advice on.

The oil on the chain is covered with tiny iron spheres, maybe 30 of them per link. They're magnetic, non-crushable, about a third of a mm in diameter. They seem to be purposely in the oil because there's no sign of them anywhere else on the bike or its container.

The rear shock bolts have a few mm of space between the shock and the mounting bracket. Is that normal? Should I put spacers/washers in the gaps?

Can I put in the rear disk pads without taking off the rear wheel? (Incidently, I can't see why the rear pads weren't mounted at the factory.)
Thanks.

Well I'm no expert but have put a few bikes together. Dont like the sound of the chain so i,d be taking it off and washing it in kero to get all those balls off it.As for the rear shock mine were the same and I just tightened it to close the gap but would like to hear from someone who knows if spacers or washers should be used. The rear pads are left out in case customs want to check for asbestos I think and you dont have to remove the rear wheel, just undo to 2 mounting bolts on the bracket and take the caliper off to install the pads. Hope this helps and I,m sure more will post and add there 2 cents worth

Chain: Not normal. Clean and re-oil as per Ingleburn's advice.