custom crf build help

Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum

Help Support Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pigdog85

Reaction score
hey im new to this and just need some info. im thinking of starting a custom build using a crf50 frame ive found the engine i want its a 20hp 175cc and fits the frame perfect, i was just wondering what steps do i have to take to turn the bike into a bigfoot,? im 6ft 75kg so i need the height. this will be my first build and just thought i would do it for a bit of fun, basicly i dont know ****. im pretty mechanicl so putting it all together isnt the problem im just not sure what i need. anyhelp would be much appreciated!!
once this build is done i have a linmax 150-3 quad i wanna rebuild with bigger engine, tyres ect but dont wanna start a quad yet as it seems like a bigger job(just wanna get a feel for building first)

Firstly Welcome to MR !!!

Now, if you want a bigfoot style bike I wouldn't start with a CRF50 frame !!!

Is the frame a genuine Honda crf50 frame ??? OR ???

Bigfoot frames have different geometry to a mini frame and this is why if you want the bike to handle then your best to start with a bigfoot style frame !!!

The CRF frame would probably be to short to run true bigfoot wheels which are 17" front, 14" rear and a 17" wheel whould more then likely hit the head of your motor and running a A style swingarm just would be right on a big foot in many ways.....

If its a true crf50 frame they are fairly weak and putting a "20HP" motor in it is asking for trubble LOL....

Maybe re-think the idear and if it is a big foot you still really want then I would sell what you have and buy a bigfoot frame to start with and go from there....

I'm also 6ft and have no issue riding non bigfoot bikes... even a true 10/10 CRF50 mini is very ridable with a few aftermarket parts like tall seat and higher bar kit...