Head light kit not working help please!

Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum

Help Support Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum:

sam93

VIC MR Ride Day Organiser
Joined
Oct 13, 2009
Messages
1,200
Reaction score
48
Location
Cranbourne East
I need some help on a new headlight i just bought...I wired it up about 30 minutes ago with the regulator etc and the lights wont even light up unless i rev the shit out of my engine? I went off this website on the diagram for no battery...

Hooper Imports Experts on Chinese Motorcycles and Parts, Engines

Parts:
Regulator: From a Lei 110 elec start motor
Engine: Ducar 124cc
Headlight see pics underneath:

 

GenuineRider

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2009
Messages
169
Reaction score
1
your ahead of me, i been trying for a while to get headlights to work on the pittys, and im not having any luck at all, i cant get them to light up no matter what i do, i think im missing something but i dont know.
 

SnItChY

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
2,406
Reaction score
31
Location
gold coast
take the "hot" wire RED and dont use it , run a "hot" wire from your yellow wire strait to the headlight b4 the reg , hey presto , light will continually run while engine is running , this is how i run my light on my monkey
 

sam93

VIC MR Ride Day Organiser
Joined
Oct 13, 2009
Messages
1,200
Reaction score
48
Location
Cranbourne East
So use the negitive wire and the yellow wire? but thats then dc and ac isnt it?
cause before the reg its at ac and it converts to dc?
 

Dabomb

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2005
Messages
1,477
Reaction score
9
Location
Newcastle
Incandescent globes will accept AC & DC voltage because the filaments are pure resistance, just make sure the voltage is fairly stable for prolonged life.
 

SnItChY

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
2,406
Reaction score
31
Location
gold coast
So use the negitive wire and the yellow wire? but thats then dc and ac isnt it?
cause before the reg its at ac and it converts to dc?
yes correct b4 the reg its ac , but thats ok your light will still work , it may pop a bulb but this is how i run my light on my monkey , but i also run a batt , but headlight only runs of ac power from stator
 

sam93

VIC MR Ride Day Organiser
Joined
Oct 13, 2009
Messages
1,200
Reaction score
48
Location
Cranbourne East
Thanks a lot guys, did what you said and its so much better but still not what i would call great but i think thats just cause its a pit bike light. ill wait till its darker and go in the garage for a proper test to see if its worthy to use or not or sell :)
 

SnItChY

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
2,406
Reaction score
31
Location
gold coast
ok cool , you do realise the light gets brighter when reved as this crates more charge
 

Dabomb

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2005
Messages
1,477
Reaction score
9
Location
Newcastle
ok cool , you do realise the light gets brighter when reved as this crates more charge
thats because the light is getting higher voltage, hence higher current and will blow the globe fairly soon as it will be receiving 3 - 4x its rated voltage.
 

sam93

VIC MR Ride Day Organiser
Joined
Oct 13, 2009
Messages
1,200
Reaction score
48
Location
Cranbourne East
Yeah i know that, harder you rev more electricity your engine makes....I dont need it im going to sell it anyway ill put it on here and on ebay....
 

SnItChY

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
2,406
Reaction score
31
Location
gold coast
thats because the light is getting higher voltage, hence higher current and will blow the globe fairly soon as it will be receiving 3 - 4x its rated voltage.
would have to disagree on most part there , mine runs the same as i stated and so does many others i have installed , running 35w globe and all work fine , maybe the batt we run makes a dif but i dunno , im no sparky but i can wire a monkey with blinkers tailights and such all off most chinny motors
 

sam93

VIC MR Ride Day Organiser
Joined
Oct 13, 2009
Messages
1,200
Reaction score
48
Location
Cranbourne East
Its normally a button on the left side that can go both ways....do you still want a tut on how to install the head light matty?
 

SnItChY

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
2,406
Reaction score
31
Location
gold coast
yes mat sort of im sure you could pick up a universal 1 from a bike shop , horn is on same switch on my monkey but its the stock switch ,easy to do
 

Latest posts

Top