Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum

Help Support Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Daniel.

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I think this is in the right section, please excuse if it's not.

I'm still learning the ropes and I wasn't sure if this amount of scoring is something to be worried about? I'm kinda getting the worst of it in these pics, everywhere else seems quite nice in comparison.

the crap sitting on the piston is from when I pulled the spark plug without blowing air down the hole first (still learning the ropes). I've got compression issues and i'm suspecting it's the valves (valve seats are blowing bubbles when i shoot compressed air up through exhaust and intake inlet) so i'm gonna be lapping those soon and i'll blow out the crap on top of the piston now while the heads off.
I don't suppose the scoring could indicate compression loss from the rings or anything like that could it?

Cheers,
Daniel.

uploadfromtaptalk1394553799935.jpguploadfromtaptalk1394553864392.jpguploadfromtaptalk1394553885427.jpguploadfromtaptalk1394553909458.jpg

Sent from my GT-I9300T using Tapatalk

what water cooled engine is that a 250cc 4V Zongshen ?
all looks pretty normal.

but do you have an oiled foam filter on the carby ?
the top of the piston looks a little dusted, dirt getting through the intake

Last edited:
Up the top of the bore seems to be the issue, run your fingers over it if there are bumps then its unusable or wont last long (the rings wont if they seal at all)
looks like a yamaha yzf bore (or wr) 3valve inlet but i debut it

It is infact a yz250f and I always keep the foam filter well oiled and in place. I was under the impression these cylinders had that nikacil coating so I kinda wanted to avoid honing if possible. I don't remember feeling any bumps when I rubbed my finger along it last time but I'll have a more in depth look now and let ya know