Master Cylinder leak??

Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum

Help Support Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Minirider22

Reaction score
Hey guys Im brand new to th forum and would really appreciate any help, thanks!!

Ok so to start off, I got a chinese pit bike for my girlfriend, problem was the brakes didnt work. The guy I got ti from said they just needed to be bled. Being a very gullible person, I just nodded said alright and continued on home. I got home to realize the window on the front brake master cylinder was broken out and thy replaced it with some sort of gunk, which of course, didnt hold up. When I hit the front brake it just poured out of a little pin hole. I went down to the hardware store and got some JB Weld. and put that on, then to the back brake... I noticed the rod comming off the brake peddal itself was going into the master cylinder at an angle, I refilled it, and tired pushing it, no luck, some did run down the rod but not much. I then took off the hose, going into the caliper, pushed the brake, and fluid shot out. Now Im stumped.
Is there something wrong with the caliper? cylinder? both? Im not really sure how to check or trouble shoot the problem. also when the jb weld dried up, i filled the fluid, bled it, and it also, did not work. and I almost forgot.. the back brake seems like its always a little engaged, without hitting the brake, and when I do hit it, nothing happens.
Appreciate taking the time to read all this!

Welcome mate. try this on the rear. They can be a bugger mate. Pull the hose and resorvoir cap off the master cylinder and the hose off the caliper and remove bleeding nipple on caliper also.
Fill both sections on the resorvoir with fluid and fill the caliper with fluid also(both holes)and replace and lightly tighten the bleed nipple only.