Pit Bike Idling High then low then high .exc. with choke on or off:(

Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum

Help Support Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have an EVO 140cc Lifan Engine

Iv noticed it is low on oil but dont know if it could be causing this problem,
sorry im fairly new to bikes,

also nothing really changes with the air fuel mix (only one screw on the carb and its on the left hAND SIDE opposite ide from the choke.

Any help would be fantastic , thankyou for your time .
Josh :)

A close up picture of the carburettor will help mate, also a clearer description of exactly what happeneds once you kick the bike over. Eg: how long it idles/revs for, rpm range of revs and what you've checked/ done to solve the issue.

Cheers
Cordogs

ok ill take the pics and post them and a link to a vid of me starting it up and idling

But when i checked the oil it wasnt even touching the dipstick ( once i found this out i didnt try again for obvious reasons ) so im gonna do an oil change but i dont think that would really effect it , Would it?

Very important that you get that oil sorted asap before any starting/riding. No it probably wont change your idling issues but it will save you buying a new engine.

Sort that out and we'll take it from there. :thumbup:

wheres the freaking pics? theres enough videos on the net of bikes being started and idling...we just want to see the carb.

a fair few carbs have the air screw in the best place ever designed...underneath, where you cant get to them! (without burnt fingers, short stumpy screwdrivers or right angle drives, at least)

the IDLE SPEED screw is obvious, its just about always on the side, in line with the slide. if you can only see one screw, assume its the idle screw and not the air screw.