Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum

Help Support Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tomjoske

Reaction score
I've tried adjusting the air screw on the carb but it doesn't seem to be doing much... It just seems to idle very high and when you release the clutch you shoot off.. I checked the flap to see if it was getting stuck when I pulled and released throttle and it's fine! Any help guys???

I've only just started getting into bikes and I'm still learning the basics!

there should be an idle speed screw on the side on the carby, they usually have a spring behind it
if turning that out doesn't drop the revs then there could be a vacuum leak

does it just backfire on decelleration, or all the time ?
if only when you back off, the bolts holding the exhaust to the head could be loose ?
or the copper oring/seal has broken or been crushed

It will back fire randomly. Ok that's the screw I was messing with so there must be a leak. What do I do now

start the bike and let it idle
then spray some wd40/degreaser/carby cleaner etc on all the joins of the carby/fuel bowl, carby/spacer, spacer/manifold, manifold/head
if the idle changes in any way, then there is your leak.

it could be a warped mounting face that needs filing to make it flat, or it could be a gasket, or o'ring that is leaking

also with the high idle,
check that your throttle adjustment isn't done up too tight.
there will be a rubber boot at the throttle, where the cable joins to the throttle.
slide it back and you should see an adjuster, and locknut.
loosen the nut, and try turning the adjuster back towards the throttle, to give the cable a little slack
then start the bike and see if it has changed it's idle speed

also with the high idle,
check that your throttle adjustment isn't done up too tight.
there will be a rubber boot at the throttle, where the cable joins to the throttle.