The Ollie Rocket project

Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum

Help Support Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ash.onmtb

Reaction score
So I'm pretty new to all this 50 stuff, so ya'll treat me gentle, but I've gotten my hands on a pile of parts, and my 8month old is pretty much crying out for a bike. And what sort of person would I be to deny him. Possibly walking should come first, but I'll just keep the bike run in for him.

A long time ago, I bought a pile of parts off Foolsp33d on here, and I've just started to go through them now. There is parts from 50j's and 50r's and a lot of things I don't know about, but you've gotta start somewhere!

My plan to build this up is to build it once, build it slow and build it right. Its going to be tame, reliable and nice to ride. Not a grumpy little animal that requires constant love. I want to be able to roll it out, check the fuel, kick it a few times and ride ride ride. So I've got a few questions hopefully you can all help with.

I'm happy to buy genuine or close enough for new bushes etc, but I wonder what areas I can improve the bike for the long term. Bushes for the swing arm - can I get them in bearings? That sort of thing? I have a PP140 and replaced all the usual items and now its great. I want to do the same thing with this 50. Take the things that usually fail/wear out and replace them before it happens.

Big kids and little kids will use it so it needs to be tough enough.

I need parts. Quite a few parts. Where is the best place to look for things like:
Fork bushings
Fork dust wipers etc
New fork legs (lowers)
Seat (R style)
Rear shocks and bushings
Swingarm bushes
Bolts for motor mounting (bolt shop?)