Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum

Help Support Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RageBall

Reaction score
Not sure if I got the right area or not, apologies if I haven't.

Wife finally convinced her parents to give us her old bike from when she was a kid.

It's an old 1974 Yamaha GT80. Not running. Know there's a piston issue and one of the bolts holding the carby (I think{it's the part over the piston}) has been snapped off inside the casing. Possible other engine issues, long story short am just going to rebuild the motor. Avoid any other issues.

Have stripped most other parts and am slowly replacing. Most are easily found from eBay. If anybody knows of a good place I can find some in or around Adelaide then that'd be appreciated.

To the point though, I'm not a mechanic or anything. Small things are fine, I have picked most things up but I've never played with a motor.

How hard are these things to rebuild? Am I better off sending it to a mechanic? Haven't priced it up but someone mentioned it would be well over 1K. Lot of money to splash on a little bike that's only going to be for the kids to ride around the paddock.

Also forgot to mention, as it was her childhood toy, wife very much prefers to keep it original so replacing the motor is a last ditch option.

Cool little bikes, my mate has one sitting in his back yard, prick wont give it to me though... Been trying for years. As for parts i really don't think you'll find that much in Aus, mainly due to the vintage of the bike. My first bike was an MX80, exactly the same bike without the electrics/lighting. MY67XR on here is the best knowledge of the places to get parts from, i'm sure he'll be along soon :) As for doing the work yourself it really depends on what work needs to be done. Post up a pic of the piston/carby issue, and that explination is a bit hard to guage anything by.