Z50J PROJECT

Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum

Help Support Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MICKY BOY

Reaction score
Hi there, I'm interested in building a Z50J replica in Brisbane Australia and wondering if anyone could give me some advice as wether to buy a second hand frame and build on it, or if anyone has succesfully built one from scratch with an aftermarket frame and then had an engineer pass it for rego...... Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

It would be very interesting to see one built as an ICV. Easier to start with a Tonelli M125 to avoid the engineers costs.

Cheers @ MAD...... Yeah I've seen the Tonelli's and they look great but bit out of my price range hence wanting to make it a project. As a student I'd be doing this , not so much on a budget, but over the course of a few months so as to try and avoid spending $2000-$3000 in one hit. Maybe i could find a second hand Tonelli which i'm guessing would not hold thier value aswell as a ridgy didge Z50.

Cheers @ MAD...... Yeah I've seen the Tonelli's and they look great but bit out of my price range hence wanting to make it a project. As a student I'd be doing this , not so much on a budget, but over the course of a few months so as to try and avoid spending $2000-$3000 in one hit. Maybe i could find a second hand Tonelli which i'm guessing would not hold thier value aswell as a ridgy didge Z50.

to build a z50 frame and to get it engineered will cost you more then buying a hole tonelli bike,

if your looking for a bike you could register look for a comp z50 frame or a cheap roller bike

It will not be a cheap exercise regardless.