Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum

Help Support Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MrMcyummy

Reaction score
Newbie here and I just purchased an 1997 RM 125 for my son and know noting about the bike or 2 strokes. Here is my issue...

At take of the bike sounds as if it were missing but picks up speed but low on torque, and does this until i get to a certain RPM, and in second if I back off it does this as well but once it feels like it hits the power band hold on cause it takes off like a rocket.

I pulled the carb and for 17 yrs old it looked amazing, (did not record the needle and Jet) and the float looked even when I turned it over, did a compression test on the cylinder and showed 125 psi, i did notice it had an NGK plug of a B7es and after looking it up on line it is a 30 dollar plug vs a 3 dollar plug thats in it now. I have ordered the new correct plug for it which is a NGK R6918B-8 but has not come in yet. The plug looked a little black but not a thick build up of oil or anything just lite carbon.

I read were it says to use only the specific NGK plug bacuase from like 1996 to 2000? i think Suzuki used a specific ignition system that uses only the Gold Irridium plug and it works the best.

I am at my wits end trouble shooting this thing could someone please shed some light on the subject please, I will take anythnig at this point. What should I look at next, the reed valve or what. I did make sure I used 32:1 ratio in the tank, as I drained all the old stuff out to eliminiate any possible over mixing issues.

Thanks,

Mike T

welcome to Miniriders,
don't forget to drop by and say hello in our Introduce Yourself thread too.

what fuel/oil ratio was the previous owner running?

the compression sounds a bit low to me ?
when you start it up and let it warm a little, then give it a blip rev, is it hesitating at all ?