Charging Issues - Motovert RX175

Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum

Help Support Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rian

Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I'm pretty new to this minibike thing, I've had a few over the years but they were just ebay ****ters and I never really cared about them, nor how they worked as long as they did actually work. Now I've recently got myself a motovert rx125, and suddenly I just want to know how everything on it works, and how to maintain it properly.
So basically the engine on this bike has been swapped from the original 125 to a Zongshen 175, and the only real problem I've had with it so far is keeping the battery charged. Now I didn't do the engine conversion so I'm just going off what I remember being told about the bike by the previous owner, and from what I've found from pulling things apart and checking. Alright here we go:
The new engine runs the same stator and I'm guessing flywheel from the last engine.
The headlight uses a 12v 35/35watt bulb.
The rear indicators are LED, the fronts are incandescent or whatever they're called.
The brake light is LED.
The parker light was some blue 12v thing, it stayed on when the headlight was on and I didn't see the point in this so I took it out in an attempt to keep charge in the battery longer when riding at night.
The battery is a Factory Effex CTX4L-BS, I'm guessing these bikes use a 12v system? I'm only new to this so i don't know.