"Need for Speed" explained

Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum

Help Support Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ruby

Reaction score
I watched some pretty interesting documentaries over the last couple of nights ... I'm studying engineering and human physics. It discusses how technology has advanced, like cars being faster and safer etc, due to a part of the brain that produces endorphins and adrenalin from the element of danger, such as riding really, really fast. Then there is the other part of our brain that produces the fear. This is from our caveman days. If man never had the need for fear, he would never have ventured out of the caves, hunted and eaten animals ... and invented the automobile.

Some people have a more advanced part of that brain that allows them to have virtually no fear, like the adrenalin junkies who jump off buildings etc.

I discussed this with my lecturer and he made me aware that I have a strong part of the brain for the 'need for danger' and that explains why after all my friends stopped riding from crashes, I still ride today even though I've almost been killed in two bike accidents. I live for the danger. I ride on the street even though I know drivers are getting worse to bikers because that is a danger I am familiar with and I've 'tamed' that danger through my experiences and persistence. Riding on the road, even with the risks involved, now bores me. Now that I'm more experienced in riding and more alert on the street, I turned to track days. Now that I'm faster and I've had my crashes, its also now not enough. I'm now involved in racing and that is a real adrenalin rush.

230kph around turn 4 at Mallala with my knee on the deck and the ripple strips flashing past my face, and a cement wall 30m away in the 'hot zone', I know I'm going to hospital if I come off there ... no buts about it. But hell its a buzz. :eek: