SDB Thumpstar .... any problems?

Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum

Help Support Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WR450FGreg

Reaction score
Hi guys,

Thumpstar newbie here......

We recently bought a 125cc SDB Thumpstar for our 11 year old son.

(I've had 35 years of motorcycle riding/racing, I reluctantly agreed to buy one, being a long time Japanese devotee!)

Has anyone had any experience with these particular machines?
Anything to look out for?
(The bike hasn't arrived yet, due in next Tuesday.)

Any input greatly appreciated.

.... and YES I have tried to do a search! Nothing happens when I click either of the two "search" links available!! I'm always logged in and have tried 5 or 6 times now. I give up!

Greg

Last edited:
You should locktite all bolts and getting a decent chain for it is a good idea as the stock ones stretch and snap quiet easily.

change the oil to a decent quality non synthetic oil

yeah mate my brother in law has one and basically what 2freeq andthump said are right on the money. He hasnt had no probs with it goin or anything just little parts falling off due to no locktite and his chain comes off a bit. If it comes with a alloy back brake lever, check if its actually a 2 piece lever cause the toe piece on his came off about second ride and was a real pain with no back brakes. I'm not sure if it has a bolt or splitpin but make sure you check it out

thanx for that i_thump i probably should of added the rest of that and not told half a story haha

Thanks guys!

This is EXACTLY the sort of information I was after.
Sounds like they aren't too bad a bike then?

Greg

Sounds like they aren't too bad a bike then?