Advice needed on downsizing.

Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum

Help Support Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

.Ashley.

Reaction score
Hello everyone :)

I'm a beginner rider and have only been on 3 short rides, I still can't ride a bike properly.
My current bike is a freebie TTY 150, and I'm finding that it's REALLY heavy and a bit too powerful for me. So I'm looking to downsize to a 125cc.

I know from reading through the forum that most of you would warn against buying cheap bikes online, but I'm unsure of whether I'm going to be able to learn to ride (I'm having issues with gearing down) and I have a very small budget.
I'm about 5"2 or 159cm tall, fairly skinny and have zero upper body strength :p so I'm not doing too well with my current bike.

I know this is one of the cheapest bikes, price and quality-wise that you could possibly get, but my question to you is if this bike is worth it? I want something lighter and less powerful to learn to ride on, and I'm also interested in learning how to fix my bike myself when anything goes wrong with it.

Instead of just shooting it down, if you could give me any pros and cons I would really appreciate it :)

Here's the link:
Red 125CC Dirt Bike

And the thumbnail is my 150 :)

Attachments

• 20140116_190313.jpg
    20140116_190313.jpg
    3.6 MB · Views: 24
Last edited:
I'd stick with the bike you've got matey

it will take a bit of time but as you get more experiance you will get used to the power.
as for going down gears what issue's can you have? as long as your using the clutch and have decent body position you should be right. jump on you tube there's heaps of how to ride tutorials, cornering, brakeing and so on.
here's something for ya my 9yo son rides a ktm 65 he can use all the power yet but he does get it up into band and gets into it. and the power of the 65 scares me it's got punch.

have fun