Hard To Start

Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum

Help Support Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

qaztarmas

Reaction score
Hi again everyone,
Sorry for all the posts with my questions about my bike but I am new and everyone is very nice and helpful. Anyway as the title suggests I am having trouble starting my pitpro 50. Is this just because it is a new bike or something. It does start eventually with the choke in the middle position. Sometimes it backfires as well when I try to kick it. Is this normal? Thanks guys as I am still learning with bikes. :)

has the bike been tuned, and the carby jetted to suit the engine ?
have the valves been adjusted yet ?

if not, then that could be part of the problem starting it.

it could also be you techique too ?

turn the kill switch off, so it is ready to run
fuel tap on
push the kickstarter down slowly until it gets hard to push, then let it return to the top
now give it a kick, there should be close on no kickback doing it this way.

the other thing to watch out for is don't turn the throttle as you are kicking it over
put your fingers on the brake lever and hold the front brake on.
this will stop you opening the throttle as you try to start it.

give them a try, and post up your results

cheers, craig

Ok, thanks for that. I will try again tomorrow when I have some time after I get home as I think the neighbours would get annoyed if I tried to start it up now. I was told to use the throttle a little bit when starting it but I will try without it next time. Can't wait to get it up and running properly. :D And No I havent tuned the carby yet or adjusted the valves. I am not entirely sure on how to do that but I will get it eventually. I only have a basic mechanical knowledge which came from owning a pocket rocket where I spent most of my time fixing it :mmph:
Anyway thanks for the response.

simple stuff doing the valves..