Honda CT110 Restoration

Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum

Help Support Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm not sure if this is the right sub-forum for this (or even the right forum) but I figured I'd post it up anyway.

Recently a mate and I each purchased a CT110 "Postie" bike, mine is a 1987 stock model, his is a 2005 with a Lifan 140cc engine in. Our aim is to restore the two bikes back to original (the exception being that Nick is keeping the 140 Lifan)

I'm a student and Nick works full time so the resto will be slow going but well get there. We are keeping track of progress on a blog

https://postiemortem.wordpress.com/

If anyone has any questions or suggestions, message us through the blog or leave a comment here.

Ben

I think the idea was to retard the spark timing when the switch was on in an attempt to combat kickback when you start her up, these lifans don't have a decomp can shaft. Putting it in an esky though?!?!? Then seeking it to him as "comes with a free esky" even if the toroid wasn't in there they drilled a dozen holes through for the wiring and the mounting bolts...

The Lifan 140 and 150 engine's have an anti-kickback mechanism in the head at the valve's and rocker arm.
But the timing leaves a bit to be desired.

You can solve the kick back problem by starting them just after tdc, push the kick lever down until it become hard, then leave a bit of pressure on it till the engine turns over that little bit more.
Kicking them over from there will stop 90% of kickback
Also fitting a better stator to it will help out a lot too
You can fit an Adjustable Timing stator kit off a Lifan 150 (Daytona 125 style), it does require patching in the new loom and cdi, and modifying the reg/rect wiring a little
or fit one of these stator's, this flywheel is quite light and helps the engine rev faster, and can run on a standard cdi loom setup.