Motored Bicycle

Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum

Help Support Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dave.B

Reaction score
Anyone here got one? im putting together one using a whipper snipper and friction drive, only thing im worried about is making some form of hinge swing to lift it up when i want to pedal, if any of you's have some valueable info let us know coz this is my first build and would rather less complications. Will i burn out the standard clutch on a whipper snipper or should it hold, its just gunna be general cruising to mates houses n stuff, and with starting this thing being friction drive would i just pull start and let it down onto the wheel and ride? or could i rig up some form of manual clutch so i can bump start it? anyway this is build is costing $12 so far just for spray paint, got given 2 cruiser mountain bikes and made one decent bike and have just resprayed it and its came out very good, engine is off our older whipper snipper so its all came along good, first time welding is going to be fun.

Yeh you clutch won't last long, just don't engage or excelerate till your moving fairly fast. Once your moving hit it - photos would be cool too.

let us know how it all goes mate. i have always been meaning to put one on my 16inch bmx but thats another project for the future lol

iv been thinking about doing this, and iv been researching it on the net. every1 seems to think that the motor will burn out pretty quick because whipper snippers are desinged for high rpm but only for short bursts!

also it will rip through tires realy quick with friction drive!

but neways tell us how it turns out

My friend did it, you can pedal but its just hard because you are still turning the engine while its off.

It goes 60 k's with a tailwind