The "How to wheelie like a pro" tutorial

Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum

Help Support Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

krazed0451

Reaction score
This is aimed at a complete beginner... Please read the whole thing before you run out and try it :)

OK, my mate in the US just asked me to write him up a guide on how to wheelie. This is basically my first draft so don't jump up and down and tell me I'm wrong. I'm happy to accept all the advice you guys can throw at me. Bear in mind this was written as a guide for a DRZ650! You'll likely have to substitute first gear for second, and second gear for third... I'd tell you, but I haven't spent enough time on the mini to know (I've only just run the engine in) :)

You're going to have to adjust wheel heights too, I just don't know what to make them yet!

On with the guide...

You'll find the power delivery a lot different between first and second gear. In first, the wheel is going to come up a lot more easily but due to the short gear will be harder to control around balance point. In second, it may be harder to get the wheel to lift initially, but once up will leave you with a broader rev range to control the wheelie.

First things first, I'd recommend starting out on grass or a nice soft dirt that still offers decent traction. If you are losing traction too much trying this, you'll just crash and get nowhere... A slight uphill will help.

I'm going to break this down into 3 basic stages. Once you are comfortable with one, progress to the next, easy peasy!

Stage one, first gear, low wheelies, no clutch, sitting:
~ Get in the "attack" position*
~ Lean back slightly (won't need to be much, you can adjust as you go)**
~ roll of the line nice and slowly and keep a steady slow pace.
~ Without letting off the throttle (or maybe a tiny let off), bump the front end down to compress the forks.