YX150 backfireing issues

Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum

Help Support Mini Dirt Bikes & Pit Bikes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

snicko54

Reaction score
I have a yx 150cc had it for about 8 months hasn't ran right since after the fist 3 months after I got it it has a pissy 22mm carb stock it started fine and was alright at idle but as the revs got up it started to back fire and pop and the throttle respoce wasn't there and was bogging out ive checked for all air leaks exhaust it tight cant figure out what the problem is im buying a oko soon as I have enough coin just wanting to see what u guy's thought it could be a mate suggested the valve clearence could be out but im no mechanic it has totally got me stumped any info or advise would be of agreat help

22mm is tiny for a 150, backfiring could be from carb being to lean, was the carb off a smaller motor?

nah mate come std with 22mm mikuni its a braaap classic bling yx150cc its the only problem ive had with the bike

You say exhaust is tight, is there actually a gasket in there as my motovert when I got it basically new didn't have one and it was tight but still had a leak also just double check your carb and jets are spotless.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2

ill be buying a oko soon but will be getting the valves looked at I was hoping to fix the prob myself but I couldn't figure out why it was going on

i'm guessing the 22mm carby you have is the china copy Mikuni 26/22mm ?
they go pretty good once they have been rejetted/adjusted

there are a few threads here on tuning them etc

pm replied to also.

cheers, craig

another thing with the backfiring,

it may be a dodgy connection in the wiring for the coil, cdi, spark plug cap, or even a faulty spark plug too.

and check that the slip joint, from the pipe to the muffler is tight as well.